BIM IN HISTORY AND IN OTHER APPLICATIONS

Thank you for your comment Jack to my conversation” DISCLAIMER – I DON’T KNOW THE ANSWER. DO YOU?”. You have raised a few interesting points. One of which has let me to post this response separately… as a bit of a detour, if I may….

Your comments about what we were doing in the past (already) had me hop on the web, out of curiosity, to see how far back I could go in seeing what has changed…. (My brief search did not find much and I might try and find lil gems along the way- for interest sake.) I did however find something I did not expect and had not even anticipated. I am not going to even dare comments on virtual games but I did find this in my search and thought I’d post it as a separate topic for those of you who may want to peep outside the box a little…

Have a look at this… it’s called Construction and management simulation games (or CMSs). I guess these games could be seen another expression of BIM, after all here, in this virtual world, players are building cities and maintaining empires  …. but it was this quote that intrigued me:

 “….But pure CMS games differ from strategy games in that “the player’s goal is not to defeat an enemy, but to build something within the context of an ongoing process.” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Construction_and_management_simulation_games

(I’ll leave it at that) If you have any other interesting historical insights into the way we did Building information Management or even modelling in the past please feel free to send me your comments and I can stitch it on to this separate post. 

3 thoughts on “BIM IN HISTORY AND IN OTHER APPLICATIONS

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

  2. Here is a short movie of what computers were doing in the last century…..
    • How far have we ACTUALLY come?
    • What’s the delay in moving beyond the BIM solution that was being done in 1969!!
    The clip is available on http://www.youtube.com, Clip title: Computer History – A British View – Part 3 of 3

  3. Thank you to Martin Taurer (Livingroom Craftz) for passing this web article onto me. When I had a look at this link about “Contour crafting” I couldn’t help but wonder how this may tie into our virtual buildings and how we build in the years to come.

    I guess this type of technology is immanent since we are already doing this on a small scale with model building – but still – I think it’s quite something
    http://www.physorg.com/news139161727.html

Leave a Reply

